Understanding the Connecticut Car Seat Law
Rear Facing Car Seat
– Children under 2 years old must remain in a rear facing car seat with a 5-point harness.
– Children under 30 lbs. must remain in a rear facing car seat with a 5-point harness.
Forward Facing Car Seat
– Children must be at least 2 years old.
– Children must be at least 30 lbs.
– Children who meet both of these requirements must be secured by a 5-point harness and ride in either a forward or rear facing car seat.
– Children must be at least 5 years old.
– Children must be at least 40 lbs.
– Children must remain in a car seat secured by a 5-point hamess or a booster seat using both the lap and shoulder belt until they are at least 8 years old AND 60 lbs.
– Children must be at least 8 years old AND 60 lbs. before transitioning out of a car seat or booster seat.
– The vehicle lap and shoulder belt MUST always be used.
– “Best Practice” is to use a booster seat beyond the minimum legal requirements.
– Always read the car seat and vehicle manuals when installing and using a car seat or booster seat.
– Violators of this law may be issued fines_and must participate in a Department of Motor Vehicles mandatory class on child passenger safety or face license suspension.
– If you have questions or would like to schedule a car seat inspection, call Yale New Haven Children’s Hospital
– Injury Prevention Program at 203-200-KIDS.
– Information contained in this handout comes from Connecticut statute 14-100 (d), effective October 1, 2017.
Source: Yale NewHaven Health, Yale New Haven Children’s Hospital
Another source of helpful informationVisit the The Car Seat Lady’s Site